2019 APA-MA Annual Awards – Nominations Open!

It is time again to recognize and celebrate recent planning success stories and those who make a difference in the planning profession. The American Planning Association – Massachusetts Chapter (APA-MA) is pleased to announce its 2019 APA-MA Awards Program. The APA-MA awards program is co-sponsored by the Massachusetts Association of Planning Directors (MAPD). Each year APA-MA and MAPD acknowledge planners and their work through its awards program. The program is designed to recognize an outstanding planning project, special person, or organization for a significant contribution to the field of planning. This year nominations are being solicited for the following awards:


Comprehensive Planning                                            Community of the Year

Planning Project                                                            Professional Planner

Transportation & Mobility Planning                         Faye Siegfriedt

Sustainability & Resiliency                                          Elected official of the Year

Social Advocacy                                                             Citizen Planner

Student Project                                                              Distinguished Service

Journalism & Communications                                  Emerging/Rising Planner

The APA-MA awards program is open to any individual or planning project in the Commonwealth. Except for the Professional Planner Award, membership in APA and/or the Massachusetts Chapter is not required.

Nominations for the Elected Official of the Year Award are due by Sunday, September 29th; nominations for all other awards are due by Sunday, October 27th. Further information, including the awards categories and criteria, eligibility requirements, submission instructions, and a link to the nomination form, is available on the Chapter’s website at APA-MA.org

Awards will be presented at the APA-MA/MAPD Holiday Luncheon Friday, December 13, 2019 at Breed Memorial Hall, Tufts University in Medford – save the date! For any questions regarding the awards program, please contact Brian Currie, Chapter Manager, at communications@apa-ma.org