Massachusetts Regional Planning Agencies

All members of the New England Association of Regional Councils (NEARC), the twelve Massachusetts regional planning agencies are public organizations that encompass a multi-jurisdictional regional community. They are founded on, sustained by and directly tied to local and/or state government laws, agreements or other actions. A regional council serves the local governments and citizens in the region by dealing with issues and needs that cross city, town, county and even state boundaries through communication, planning, policymaking, coordination, advocacy and technical assistance. A regional council seeks to build partnerships and programs that reflect the regional community.

Through its regional council, the regional community can pool its resources to meet challenges involving solid waste, water and wastewater systems, housing, crime, transportation, workforce training, services for elderly, economic development and other issues that cross jurisdictional boundaries. Massachusetts regional planning agencies include the following:

BERKSHIRE REGIONAL PLANNING COMMISSION
One Fenn Street, Suite 201
Pittsfield, MA  01201-6229
Tel:  413/442-1521
Fax:  413/442-1523
E-mail:  brpc@berkshireplanning.org
Website:  www.berkshireplanning.org
Executive Director: Nathaniel W. Karns
E-mail:  nkarns@berkshireplanning.org
 
BOSTON REGION METROPOLITAN PLANNING ORGANIZATION (MPO)
10 Park Plaza, Suite 2150
Boston, MA  02116
Tel:  617/973-7100
Fax:  617/973-8855
TTY: 617/973-7089   
Website:  www.bostonmpo.org
Executive Director: Karl Quackenbush
E-mail: kquackenbush@ctps.org
 
CAPE COD COMMISSION
3225 Main Street, P.O. Box 226
Barnstable, MA  01630-0226
Tel:  508/362-3828
Fax:  508/362-3136
Website:  www.capecodcommission.org
Executive Director: Paul Niedzwiecki
E-mail: pniedzwiecki@capecodcommission.org
 
CENTRAL MASSACHUSETTS REGIONAL PLANNING COMMISSION
2 Washington Square
Union Station, Suite 200
Worcester, MA  01604-4016
Tel:  508/756-7717
Fax:  508/792-6818
E-mail:  cmrpc@cmrpc.org
Website:  www.cmrpc.org
Executive Director: Lawrence Adams
E-mail:  ladams@cmrpc.org
 
FRANKLIN REGIONAL COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS
12 Olive Street, Suite 2
Greenfield, MA  01301-3313
Tel:  413/774-3167
Fax:  413/774-3169
E-mail:  info@frcog.org
Website:  www.frcog.org
Executive Director: Linda Dunlavy
E-mail:  lindad@frcog.org
 
MARTHA’S VINEYARD COMMISSION
P.O. Box 1447
Oak Bluffs, MA  02557-1447
Tel:  508/693-3453
Fax:  503/693-7894
E-mail: info@mvcommission.org
Website: www.mvcommission.org
Executive Director: Mark London
E-mail:  london@mvcommission.org
 
MERRIMACK VALLEY PLANNING COMMISSION
160 Main Street
Haverhill, Massachusetts 01830
Tel: 978/ 374-0519
Fax: 978/372-4890
E-mail Address: info@mvpc.org
Website: www.mvpc.org
Executive Director: Dennis DiZoglio
E-mail: ddizoglio@mvpc.org
 
METROPOLITAN AREA PLANNING COUNCIL
60 Temple Place, 6th Floor
Boston, Massachusetts 02111
Tel: 617/451-2770
Fax: 617/482-7185
Website: www.mapc.org
Executive Director: Marc Draisen
E-mail mdraisen@mapc.org
 
MONTACHUSETT REGIONAL PLANNING COMMISSION
R1427 Water Street
Fitchburg, Massachusetts 01420
Tel: 978/345-7376
Fax: 978/348-2490
E-mail Address: mrpc@mrpc.org
Website: www.mrpc.org
Director: Glenn Eaton
E-mail:  geaton@mrpc.org
 
NANTUCKET PLANNING AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION
1 East Chestnut Street
Nantucket, Massachusetts 02554
Tel: 508/228-7237
Fax: 508/228-7236
Website: www.nantucket-ma.gov/departments/npedc/npedc.html
Executive Director: Andrew V. Vorce
E-mail: avorce@nantucket-ma.gov
 
NORTHERN MIDDLESEX COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS
Gallagher Terminal, Floor 3B
115 Thorndike Street
Lowell, Massachusetts 01852
Tel: 978/454-8021
Fax: 978/454-8023
E-mail Address: mail@nmcog.org
Website: www.nmcog.org
Executive Director: Beverly A. Woods
E-mail: bwoods@nmcog.org
 
PIONEER VALLEY PLANNING COMMISSION
26 Central Street, 3rd Floor
West Springfield, MA  01089
Tel:  413/781-6045
Fax:  413/732-2593
E-mail:  info@pcpc.org
Website:  www.pvpc.org
Executive Director: Timothy W. Brennan
E-mail:  tbrennan@pvpc.org
 
OLD COLONY PLANNING COUNCIL
70 School Street
Brockton, MA 02301
Tel: 508/583-1833
Fax: 508/5598768
E-mail: info@ocpcrpa.org
Website: www.ocpcrpa.org
Executive Director: Pat Ciaramella
E-mail: pciaramella@ocpcrpa.org
 
SOUTHEASTERN REGIONAL PLANNING
AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT DISTRICT
88 Broadway
Taunton, MA  02780
Tel:  508/824-1367
Fax:  508/823-1803
E-mail:  info@srpedd.org
Website:  www.srpedd.org
Executive Director: Stephen C. Smith
E-mail:  ssmith@srpedd.org