2012 APA-MA Award Winners

APA-MA Chapter




BOSTON – December 1, 2012 – The American Planning Association-Massachusetts Chapter (APA-MA) is honoring innovative planning efforts and individuals with its 2012 Annual Awards Program. Thirteen award recipients will be recognized during the 2012 APA-MA/ Massachusetts Association of Planning Directors (MAPD) Annual Awards and Holiday Luncheon to be held on December 14, 2012 at the Hotel Marlowe in Cambridge. The recipients will also be featured in an upcoming issue of chapter e-newsletter New England Planning.

APA-MA’s awards program, the state’s highest honor for planning professionals, is a proud tradition established years ago to recognize outstanding comprehensive plans, planning programs and initiatives, public education efforts, and individuals for their leadership on planning issues. These efforts help create communities and neighborhoods of lasting value throughout Massachusetts. This year’s winners are include:

The Comprehensive Planning Award, which honors a plan, program or process of unusually high merit, is awarded to two projects:

SomerVision Comprehensive Plan designated as Comprehensive Planning Award for a municipality over 50,000 population:

    • Mayor Joseph A. Curtatone, City of Somerville
    • Michael F. Glavin, Executive Director, Mayor’s Office of Strategic Planning & Community Development, City of Somerville
    • George Proakis AICP, Director of Planning, City of Somerville

2011 & 2012 Westford Strategic Planning Retreats designated as Comprehensive Planning Award for a municipality under 50,000 population:

    • Jodi Ross, Town Manager, Town of Westford
    • Angus Jennings AICP, Director of Land Use Management, Town of Westford
    • Chris Kluchman AICP, Town Planner, Town of Westford
    • Town of Westford Boards, Commissions and Committees
    • Chris Hayes, MRP Candidate, Cornell University

In addition, Worcester Regional Mobility Study (Worcester and surrounding municipalities) is designated as an honorable mention.

    • Mary Ellen Blunt, Program Manager, Central Massachusetts Regional Planning Commission
    • Sujatha Mohanakrishnan, Project Manager, Central Massachusetts Regional Planning Commission
    • Bob Frey, Director of Planning Systems Information, MassDOT Office of Transportation Planning
    • John Bechard, Regional Office Manager, VHB
    • Donald Cooke, Managing Director Transportation Systems, VHB
    • Joseph Wanat, Director of Transportation Planning and Operations, VHB
    • John Mullin, President, Mullin Associates
    • Judi Barrett, Director of Planning, Community Opportunities Group

The Planning Project Award, which honors a specific project, bylaw, ordinance, or document of unusually high merit, is awarded to two projects:

MAPC Brownfields Coalition Grant Riverwalk Visioning Study project in Peabody and Salem

    • Martin Pillsbury, Environmental Planning Director, Metropolitan Area Planning Council
    • Laurie O’Connor, Brownfields Project Officer, EPA, Region 1 – New England
    • Brendan Callahan, Senior Planner, City of Peabody
    • Tom Devine, Conservation Agent/Staff Planner, City of Salem
    • George Naslas, Principal, Weston & Sampson Engineers
    • James Currier, Project Manager, Weston & Sampson Engineers
    • Letitia Tormay, Project Landscape Architect, Spurr, Weston & Sampson’s Design Studio

Cape Cod National Seashore Bicycle Feasibility Study

    • Patricia Sacks, Project Manager, National Park Service, Denver Service Center
    • Karst Hoogeboom, Facility Manager, National Park Service, Cape Cod National Seashore
    • Clay Schofield, Transportation Engineer, Cape Cod Commission
    • Lindsey Counsell, Steering Committee Chair, Town of Barnstable
    • Chris DeWitt, Project Manager, VHB
    • Joe Magni, Senior Transportation Engineer, VHB
    • Bill DeSantis, Director of Bicycle Transportation, VHB

In addition, the Roxbury-Dorchester-Mattapan Transit Needs Study project in Boston is designated as an honorable mention.

    • Scott Hamwey, Project Manager, MassDOT
    • Charles Bradley III, Arch Professional Group
    • Rachel Burckardt, Parsons Brinckerhoff
    • Kelley Chunn, Kelley Chunn & Associates
    • Adrienne R. Benton, Onyx Spectrum Technology, Inc.

The Student Project Award honors an individual or group of students for an outstanding project. This year’s award is bestowed on two projects:

Building Local Food Connections – A Community Food System Assessment project in Concord led by planning students at the Conway School of Landscape Design

    • Christina Gibson, Conway School of Landscape Design Student
    • Jamie Pottern, Conway School of Landscape Design Student

Mumbai Port Redevelopment project in Mumbai, led by planning students and faculty at Harvard University.

    • James Cody Birkey AICP, Harvard University Graduate School of Design Student
    • Jaemin Ha, Harvard University Graduate School of Design Student
    • Mukul Bafana, Harvard University Business School Student
    • Laura Bishop, Harvard University Law School Student
    • Faculty Advisors: Nicolas Retsinas, Harvard University Business School & Richard Peiser, Harvard University Graduate School of Design

This year’s Professional Planner Award, which recognizes contributions to the planning profession through distinguished practice, teaching or writing, is awarded to Karen M. Cullen AICP, Director of Planning & Community Development, Town of Ware.

The Legislator of the Year Award, which recognizes an elected official who has made a significant contribution to planning, was awarded to State Representative Brian Dempsey, D – Haverhill.  He is the chair of the House Committee on Ways and Means and the chair of the Joint Committee on Ways and Means.

The Citizen Planner Award, which honors a non-planning professional who has made a distinguished contribution to planning, was awarded to:

The Danvers Rail Trail Advisory Committee creators of the Danvers Rail Trail, including:

    • Charley Lincicum, Chair
    • Paula Boyce
    • Laura Cilley
    • William Clark, Board of Selectman liaison
    • Dan Curtis
    • Lori Dupont
    • Matthew Duggan
    • Peter Matchak
    • Ron Ouimette
    • William Ward
    • Mark M. Jones, website design

The Charles E. Downe Memorial Award, which honors a planner who, in the spirit of the late Charles E. Downe, exemplifies public outreach, mentoring of young planners, demonstrated patience and the utmost integrity, will be awarded to John Mullin from the University of Massachusetts.

The MAPD Chapter Award, which honors special contributions identified by the MAPD, was awarded to Bob Ritchie.

To learn about the Massachusetts chapter of the American Planning Association, please visit www.apa-ma.org.